top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSavannah Davis

COSMETIC DERMATOLOGY (9/27/2021)

As I have continued my research in the Independent Study and Mentorship Program, I have been granted the ability to further understand common skin conditions, treatment options, technological innovations, and sub-topics of Dermatology. While conducting these investigations, I was introduced to cosmetic dermatology. With this being said, I decided to further my knowledge this week by reading the article “Cosmetic Dermatology: An Integral Part of Current Dermatology Curriculum” which was published on PubMed (a medical database). To provide context, cosmetic dermatology is directly related to aesthetic aspects of the skin. It also includes skin conditions that are mainly of “cosmetic concern” (this specialty is typically not surgical). Although cosmetic dermatology is a growing speciality, many medical dermatologists presume their treatments as unethical. For example, most procedures done within the specialty expose patients to unnecessary risks for treating harmless conditions. I found cosmetic dermatology to be intriguing as the demand is substantially increasing (in turn, there is a shortage of dermatologists practicing medical dermatology). I enjoyed being able to learn the main differences between medical and cosmetic dermatology as these “specialties” exhibit a variety of benefits and negative factors. As I continue my research of Dermatology, I am looking to decipher which field I should discuss with medical professionals at my interviews. Ultimately, I think cosmetic dermatology is the field I would likely study closely in the Independent Study and Mentorship program after digesting the contents of the informative article.




0 views

Recent Posts

See All

FAREWELL (5/2/2022)

For my last blog in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I want to just give a brief synopsis of the lessons I learned over the course of the year and how they will help me in my professional

ALMOST DONE (4/18/2022)

This week in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I will be primarily working on my final speech presentation. Since I have finished my important assignments, I need to start focusing on fixi

BUSY WEEK (4/4/2022)

This week in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I am planning to meet with one of my mentors (Peyton Harris/MA at Dermatology Consultants of Frisco). I am really excited to talk to her abou

bottom of page