top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSavannah Davis

RESEARCH SHOWCASE WEEK (2/21/2022)

This past week was a very exhilarating experience in my Independent Study and Mentorship journey. On Wednesday, I had my first mentor visit with Beth Palazzetti who works at Southlake Dermatology. I was introduced first hand to what a day-to-day experience being a PA-C is like which was extremely helpful. During my time shadowing her, I was able to watch her perform several procedures and treat many patients. The most interesting one to watch was the extraction of a cyst on the groin. Between appointments, we talked about my Final Project and she was able to give me more insight on how it can improve. For example, she explained how my proposal could also inform Dermatology companies that representation of skin cancer should be advocated for darker skin complexions. In addition to this, she mentioned that my discussion on sunscreen formulation needs to change was a great idea. Lastly, she allowed me to read some of her textbooks and learn about common terminology I would hear during my visits at the office. This coming week, I am looking forward to watching Mrs. Palazzetti perform surgery on Thursday. Lastly, I am preparing for the research showcase and presenting all of the progress I have made so far.

8 views

Recent Posts

See All

FAREWELL (5/2/2022)

For my last blog in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I want to just give a brief synopsis of the lessons I learned over the course of the year and how they will help me in my professional

ALMOST DONE (4/18/2022)

This week in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I will be primarily working on my final speech presentation. Since I have finished my important assignments, I need to start focusing on fixi

BUSY WEEK (4/4/2022)

This week in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I am planning to meet with one of my mentors (Peyton Harris/MA at Dermatology Consultants of Frisco). I am really excited to talk to her abou

bottom of page