top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSavannah Davis

ORIGINAL WORK REFLECTION (12/13/2021)

As my progress has continued in the Independent Study and Mentorship course, I have been able to effectively learn a variety of topics in Dermatology. With the extensive research I have conducted as of present through interviews and academic articles, I am beginning to focus on the concept of racial inequities in Dermatology. Racial inequity can be defined as a disparity in treatment or opportunity that occurs as a result of an individual's racial identity. With this topic, I am looking to expand on how dermatological products can become more inclusive to different skin tones/complexions (such as sunscreen, both spray and creme form). For my Original Work, I wrote a research paper that discussed the general issue as an introduction to my Final Work (which will be a product proposal with statistically backed data regarding why it should be created). Furthermore, I plan on directing this proposal to a specific company. Conclusively, I am looking to increase the awareness of the disparities experienced by people of color in healthcare. Unfortunately, racial minority groups lack proper representation which negatively affects their treatment and diagnosis process. Presenting the general public with this issue will aid in bringing awareness and change for these individuals.

3 views

Recent Posts

See All

FAREWELL (5/2/2022)

For my last blog in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I want to just give a brief synopsis of the lessons I learned over the course of the year and how they will help me in my professional

ALMOST DONE (4/18/2022)

This week in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I will be primarily working on my final speech presentation. Since I have finished my important assignments, I need to start focusing on fixi

BUSY WEEK (4/4/2022)

This week in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I am planning to meet with one of my mentors (Peyton Harris/MA at Dermatology Consultants of Frisco). I am really excited to talk to her abou

bottom of page