top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSavannah Davis

PROGRESS ON ORIGINAL WORK (11/15/2021)

With the help of conducting primary research, I have been able to direct my focus on my Original Work and Final Product. Originally, I had thought I was going to go towards a more technological route though I received a new perspective that I found intriguing. To be specific, PA-C Patrice Simon discussed her concern for people of color being aware of dermatological issues and how she desired certain products (such as sunscreen) products to be more suitable. With this being said, I recently decided to analyze an article titled “The Efficacy and Safety of Sunscreen Use for the Prevention of Skin Cancer” which was published on the medical database PubMed. Prior to reading the content, I was looking for a general understanding of how sunscreen works and how I will be able to hopefully develop a research paper discussing this issue. For context, the article discusses how exposure to ultraviolet radiation is estimated to be around 80-90 percent of skin cancers. The use of sunscreen has been proven to reduce the chance of both melanoma/non-melanoma skin cancer. In addition to this, sunscreen has also helped prevent signs of photo aging such as wrinkles, telangiectasia, and pigmentary alterations. Sunscreens contain organic and inorganic compounds that act to block ultraviolet radiation. Ultraviolet radiation is light with wavelengths that are shorter than visible light. Generally, a shorter wavelength indicates a higher potential of being exposed to light radiation (which can cause biological damage to the skin and bodily functions). Furthermore, sunscreen products contain chemical filters, such as oxybenzone, which absorbs high-intensity radiation. In regard to who should use sunscreen products, the article discusses that people of all skin types should use an SPF of 30+ to protect themselves. On the other hand, skin cancer is more prevalent in white individuals than people with darker skin. Unfortunately, the article states that there have been no studies conducted to assess the effectiveness of regular sunscreen use in reducing the risk of skin cancer for people of color. I found this interesting considering how quickly medicine evolves and how this issue is still not solved (meaning a large amount of data still needs to be gathered over a period of time).



0 views

Recent Posts

See All

FAREWELL (5/2/2022)

For my last blog in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I want to just give a brief synopsis of the lessons I learned over the course of the year and how they will help me in my professional

ALMOST DONE (4/18/2022)

This week in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I will be primarily working on my final speech presentation. Since I have finished my important assignments, I need to start focusing on fixi

BUSY WEEK (4/4/2022)

This week in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I am planning to meet with one of my mentors (Peyton Harris/MA at Dermatology Consultants of Frisco). I am really excited to talk to her abou

bottom of page