top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSavannah Davis

SECOND RESEARCH INTERVIEW (11/08/2021)

Updated: Nov 15, 2021

As the Independent Study and Mentorship program has progressed, I have been able to conduct secondary research on basic dermatological knowledge such as skin diseases, subspecialties of Dermatology, technological innovations, etc. Though this information has been helpful in deepening my understanding regarding the occupation, conducting primary research allows an individual to create connections and gain a first-hand perspective of a professional. In the Independent Study and Mentorship program, students conduct primary research by interviewing individuals of their choice within their field to discuss a variety of topics and ultimately be offered advice/clarity. As of right now, I have conducted two interviews (one of these I will be discussing in this assessment). Recently, I had the opportunity to have an in-depth discussion with Patrice Simon. For context, Patrice Simon is a certified physician’s assistant at Legacy Dermatology and Restoration Center in Frisco, Texas. In regard to her education, she received her Bachelor of Science at the University of Texas Southwestern Allied Health Science Center in 2003. After this, she attended Duke University and received her Master of Science in 2008. My primary objective during this interview was to gain an idea of what my Original Work/Final Work should target. In addition, I wanted to learn how the requirements of a physician’s assistant differ from those of an actual board-certified dermatologist. When asked about possible ideas for my ISM requirements, PA Simon suggested designing more sunscreens for people of color. Currently, there are not many options for these individuals (the sunscreen gives off a purple complexion). I really enjoyed this recommendation as it is "new" and would be interesting to develop for the Final Work.



1 view

Recent Posts

See All

FAREWELL (5/2/2022)

For my last blog in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I want to just give a brief synopsis of the lessons I learned over the course of the year and how they will help me in my professional

ALMOST DONE (4/18/2022)

This week in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I will be primarily working on my final speech presentation. Since I have finished my important assignments, I need to start focusing on fixi

BUSY WEEK (4/4/2022)

This week in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I am planning to meet with one of my mentors (Peyton Harris/MA at Dermatology Consultants of Frisco). I am really excited to talk to her abou

bottom of page