top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSavannah Davis

SPRING BREAK AND FUTURE PLANS (3/14/2022)

This week in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I am hoping to develop my Final Work further. Since it is a proposal to companies requesting a change in sunscreen products, I need to become familiar with the formulation process. Specifically, I would like to understand the chemical process behind the product. I need to figure out what specific ingredient causes unwanted purple-like skin pigmentation on individuals with darker complexions. Without this knowledge, my proposal would be incomplete and not fully effective. I am hoping that conducting this research will not be too difficult and I will find articles that point me in the right direction. Additionally, I need to look back on other assessments to add into my draft. Since I am discussing the issue of a specific dermatological product, I need to begin by mentioning racial inequity in healthcare as a whole. I think I did an effective job addressing this in my Original Work so I am not too worried about this portion. During spring break, I was able to learn about how sunscreen truly works to protect the skin (this was done by reading articles and watching videos). Besides working on my Final Work, I am also planning on asking my mentor (Peyton Harris) to do a virtual interview. I would like to get her input on my ideas and also hear how she is doing in the process of applying to medical school.

4 views

Recent Posts

See All

FAREWELL (5/2/2022)

For my last blog in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I want to just give a brief synopsis of the lessons I learned over the course of the year and how they will help me in my professional

ALMOST DONE (4/18/2022)

This week in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I will be primarily working on my final speech presentation. Since I have finished my important assignments, I need to start focusing on fixi

BUSY WEEK (4/4/2022)

This week in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I am planning to meet with one of my mentors (Peyton Harris/MA at Dermatology Consultants of Frisco). I am really excited to talk to her abou

bottom of page