top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSavannah Davis

TIME TO GET STARTED (1/17/2022)

This week, I am planning on furthering my research for the Final Project. To do this, I need to look into academic articles on PubMed that discuss racial inequity in dermatological products. Prior to creating my Original Work, I had a bit of difficulty looking into the creation of sunscreen (a preventative product to avoid sun damage/skin cancer). I need to discover a descriptive explanation of the formula used to create said product. The primary issue with these standard sunscreen products is the way they present on people of color in comparison to caucasian individuals. This problem was brought to my attention by PA Simon during our interview, I found it so intriguing that I decided to pursue it fully. I am looking forward to building a strong understanding of how the product creation can be improved to be more versatile/accommodating for all skin complexions. I haven’t decided how I would like to present my findings to the Dermatology companies, so far I am thinking a written proposal will be sufficient. I think it would be best to begin this process now. On the other hand, I am still looking for a mentor. Unfortunately, this is difficult because of COVID-19 (which I mentioned in a previous blog). Once I get permission to shadow a professional, I will be able to receive assistance on my Original Work.

1 view

Recent Posts

See All

FAREWELL (5/2/2022)

For my last blog in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I want to just give a brief synopsis of the lessons I learned over the course of the year and how they will help me in my professional

ALMOST DONE (4/18/2022)

This week in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I will be primarily working on my final speech presentation. Since I have finished my important assignments, I need to start focusing on fixi

BUSY WEEK (4/4/2022)

This week in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I am planning to meet with one of my mentors (Peyton Harris/MA at Dermatology Consultants of Frisco). I am really excited to talk to her abou

bottom of page