top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSavannah Davis

UPDATED PROGRESS ON ORIGINAL WORK (12/6/2021)

To gain more information about racial inequity within the field of Dermatology, I searched for academic articles on PubMed. In the process of doing so, I came across an article titled “Coronavirus Disease 2019 and Race in Dermatology” which was very helpful for my research paper. The content mainly discussed how the recent pandemic has highlighted the importance of recognizing the role of structural racism plays in amplifying and uncovering power imbalances that were pre-existing in healthcare (among vulnerable racial and ethnic groups). The article also discussed how there is a lack of color representation in educational materials for residents in Dermatology. Conclusively, I was interested to learn that most skin color patients are often categorized into Fitzpatrick skin photo-types IV and VI race and ethnicity are not the same. For example, the article mentions how some individuals that identify as Hispanic/Latino may be patients with Fitzpatrick photo-type I. In addition to this, the article mentions how skin cancer can still occur in darker phenotypes which do not usually receive early detection and treatment. People of color reported that they had different viewpoints than the caucasian population regarding the utility of skin examinations and were less likely to believe they could change their own risk of skin cancer with personal intervention. This information directly ties into my studies of the efficacy of sunscreens for people of color which I have studied prior to analyzing this article.

1 view

Recent Posts

See All

FAREWELL (5/2/2022)

For my last blog in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I want to just give a brief synopsis of the lessons I learned over the course of the year and how they will help me in my professional

ALMOST DONE (4/18/2022)

This week in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I will be primarily working on my final speech presentation. Since I have finished my important assignments, I need to start focusing on fixi

BUSY WEEK (4/4/2022)

This week in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I am planning to meet with one of my mentors (Peyton Harris/MA at Dermatology Consultants of Frisco). I am really excited to talk to her abou

bottom of page